The Wartburg men’s and women’s cross country teams won the American River’s Conference title on Saturday, Nov. 2. It was the first for the women since 2014 and the second-straight for the men, who set a new school record in points with 19. The 1999 squad previously held the record with 21. 

The No. 3 men’s team placed nine runners inside the top 15 and 11 inside the top 20. Joe Freiburger ’21 earned conference MVP honors with a first-place time of 26 minutes and 47.6 seconds.

The Orange and Black finished the race with runners at the 1-3-4-5 spots. Sam Pinkowski ’21, last year’s runner-up, was third in 27:00.1, Morgan Shirley-Fairbairn ’22 was fourth and Dalton Martin ’22 was fifth. Christopher Collet ’23, Caleb Appleton ’20, Matt Heinzman ’21, Drew Hoffman ’21, and Jay Mixdorf ’21 all placed in the top 15 to earn All-Conference laurels. 

The No. 17 women were led by Carina Collet ’21. Carina Collet earned MVP honors for a second-straight year, finishing first with a time of 19:18.7. 

Aubrie Fisher ’23 took fifth place with a time of 20:15, while Janelle Baeskens ’21, Cassidy Christopher ’21, Trinity Borland ’22, and Riley Mayer ’22 placed in the top 15 for All-Conference honors. 

Head coach Ryan Chapman and assistant coach Phil Spitzer were voted Coaching Staff of the Year on both the women’s and men’s sides. The women’s award was Chapman’s first, while the men’s honor was his second-straight 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: